Hi From Chris Bowers In Chalford Hill England

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi everyone

I am 36 years old which is considered young blood in the English turning scene! I was busy being a retail manager until the financial crash made me redundant twice and I went back to college to learn carpentry and joinery. After gaining a distinction grade for both theory and practical I looked at what was available for me. I found regimented souless joinery shops and low paid site work to be the norm. Unable to release my creativity under such conditions I taught myself to turn whilst working in low paid retail and factory jobs. I am a self taught wood turner who turns everyday. My favourite tool to use is a skew and my favourite wood to turn is Cherry (at the moment). I make maybe a couple of thousand blanks every year which I use and sell on ebay and via the admin email address on my website. I am a skilled bandsaw operator who is constantly amazed at the versatility of the machine. Once I have sliced the wood with my chainsaw into 6" sections to pass through my Dewalt bandsaw every other part of the cutting operation is done on this machine although I have recently started squaring the ends with a chop saw.

I feel excited about having joined the IAP. I love turning wood and especially making beautiful pens. I put my soul and creativity into every pen I make. Pens are special and should make the end user feel special every time they pick it up to use it. I have recently set up a small business as I wish to turn to make a living. My website is very new and I am still working on it. It is called heartwoodturning.co.uk. I'd love you to have a quick look so you can view some of my work. I will try to be as useful to the IAP as possible by providing advice and help on the forums.

Kind regards

Chris Bowers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Hi Chris, welcome from Texas.