Hi folks from Australia

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dad1957

I am new to turning and making pens ect. One question I am having trouble getting a good (gloss) finish using CA glue. The finish is Matt and hard. Any thoughts would be appericated

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Welcome from Texas

I will let others answer your CA question as I rarely use it. I mostly use a friction polish finish on wood. Depending on the type of wood & effect that I want, sometimes I will use the Hut carnauba wax bars or Craft Coat & occasionally even CA. I'm still working on my techniques for each method.

magpens

G'day from Canada !! ... What part of Australia are you in ? I lived in SA for many years.

Re: CA application. I use a blue paper shop towel. Cut into thirds, then fold into strips about 2 cm wide. Put 3 or 4 drops of thin or medium CA on one end of the strip and rub it back and forth along the bottom of the *slowly* turning blank. Use about 3 blasts of an aerosol accelerator. Wait a few seconds and then repeat. This time put the 3 drops of CA a little ways from the previous drops. About 10 applications covering the blank should do. After waiting a couple of minutes, start sanding *lengthwise*. I use 180 or 240 grit wet and dry. Sand smooth until there are no shiny spots. Continue sanding, with higher grits, until you get to 2000. Then polish with a liquid car cut polish. Repeat with a good plastic polish. Should be looking good by now. Good luck.

Last edited:

JimB

Welcome from western New York State, USA.

I have found sometimes the first few coats have a matt finish and then when I get to around coat 6 it gets glossy. I use medium ca and BLO.

BJohn

Welcome aboard from Arkansas

You will find many techniques for using Ca. I believe this a decent tutorial in the library, also so good videos on you tube.

Check them out then practice till you find what works for you.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator