Help with making Chiyogami blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kovalcik

Need some help with my Chiyogami blanks, specifically with gluing the paper onto the tube.

I tried with Mod Podge. I had problems getting the paper to stick at the seam and ended up working the paper so much it got dull and blurred in places. I also ended up with issues of the paper not being tight to the tube all the way around. I have never used Mod Podge before, so I may be doing something wrong there. The good news is I cast and turned it just for the heck of it and the side of the tube that was not overworked looked great. I want to try another with CA and see if I have better luck.

In the meantime, is anyone willing to share their secrets to gluing the paper to the tube? Also, how do you do the seam? Straight cut? Overlap?

Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Kenny Durrant

I'm not familiar with the paper you are talking about but I haven't had any luck with Mod Podge. I tried it several times and had failures every time. I believe others use it with no problems so it must be me. I did like the way it made the colors pop and seemed to be a better product than Elmers White Glue. But that's the only thing that works for me other than C.A. I use Elmers because it gives me time to adjust or play with whatever I'm gluing. There are other threads about hiding seams that mention not using straight lines and a few others. Since you live a little far I guess I can't hold it against you for not coming to the last North Texas IAP Meeting. There Mr.Ward told us about using a pen or marker to color the white edge of the paper to help hide the seam. I've used this method and it works really well. I hope Don doesn't mind me repeating that but I guess since he made it public and didn't tell us not to repeat it it would be ok. Good Luck.

plantman