Hello from Northern Virginia

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

madbh

Hi my name is Marjorie and I have been turning pens off and on for about 12 years on a mini lathe. I am getting back into it and still have a lot to learn. I just discovered acrylic and this web site. I am so excited about all I can learn here.

I have recently (sadly) inherited a full size lathe (size ?) and a lot of bowl blanks from my brother who taught me how to turn pens. I am afraid to attempt to turn anything larger than a pen and would love to find someone interested helping me get started. There are a lot of chucks and other small tools that I have no idea what they are for:confused:. I do have a drill press, table saw, 18" bandsaw, mitre saw and a jointer.

Any help or suggestions on where to begin would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

corian king

Hello neighbor!!! Welcome aboard! I live in chesapeake myself.
There are plenty of super nice people here that are always willing to try and help out.
Good luck!!!
JIM

azamiryou

Welcome from not too far away (Silver Spring)! And please accept my sympathy on your loss.

Sounds like you've got plenty of folks to help you right in your area, but I wanted to make sure you know about The Woodworker's Club in Rockville. They have lots of helpful people and also offer various lessons and classes.

Longfellow

Welcome

Welcome from Sunny St Cloud, FL. Home of beautiful Florida wood.

Attachments

• IMG_5200 (Small).JPG
    IMG_5200 (Small).JPG
    92.4 KB · Views: 100

ctubbs