Hello from NJ

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JoeOCNJ

Hello gang, I'm Joe.
I'm new at turning wood, I have been wanting to get involved with some type of woodworking, and at the current time this fit's my limited space and tight budget. I have successfully turned one pen to date (insert laughter here) I had some issues with using CA glue so now i have a few other type of glue to try out and am waiting for new blanks and tubes to come in the mail. I'll let ya know how I make out with the next round of attempts ;)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

USAFVET98

Welcome Joe from the Poconos (Jersey Transplant). I grew up in long branch and asbury park areas. Your in Ocean county? Anyway, enjoy the site and please dont hesitate to ask any questions you might have.

JoeOCNJ

Well, I ordered some random pen blanks from ebay, got 22 pieces for 12 bucks plus shipping, for me, im satisfied with them, i wont buy expensive stuff until I am a lot better at turning. I went out today and wiped all my tools down with acetone.. the problem I was having was in fact from too much CA glue. So after cleaning everything off, now I am trying 5min epoxy and Gorilla glue. I am liking them much better than straight CA glue to hold the tubes. I turned out one pen, but the finish really lacks a finish.. I plan on trying again, tomorrow or Monday (depending on when i can get to the store and grab some propane.. its chilly!!) I'll keep ya posted on my results..

Can someone suggest a reasonable place to buy pen kits and supplies from. I found one on the internet, but so far the order I placed 2 weeks before Christmas has slowly trickled in, 3 seperate packages... I don't wanna run into that problem again :)

JoeOCNJ