Hand Tool Purchasing

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam
We have a thread going talking about prices of materials - silver in particular - and It raised my curiosity about how price figures in when you buy hand tools like hammers, screw drivers, pliers, socket wrenches etc.

I have many of these items and when I think of it they range from very high priced to very low priced. For instance I have hammers that range from over $20.00 to less than $2.00. I have wrenches that I bought 50 years ago at top prices and others that came free with other tools.... How about you.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KCW

I was a mechanic for a number of years, so I have tools that range from dirt cheap to ridiculous.

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Being a farmer with a couple of full-sized tractors & multiple attachments, I have LOTS of tools and more hammers than I can count. I don't think I've ever spent as much as $20 on any of them though - although I do have a lot of tools that cost considerably more than that.

I inherited a couple of large sledge hammers and I had to replace the handle on one a couple of years ago. The $10 that I spent on the handle was probably 3-4 times what my dad spent on the whole thing some 70 years ago.

SteveG

I have been working at woodworking (from hobby, graduating to serious hobby, to making my living, to semi-retired) for more than 50 years. At the start, I quickly learned to avoid cheap hand tools, and thus had mostly decent quality tools along the way. If some tool was determined to not measure up, I would spend whatever was needed to get a suitable replacement. Starting cheap, then upgrading in repeated steps has always proved more expensive, especially when evaluated by the combined criteria of tool frustration and dollar cost.

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam