Fresh Bois De Arc (BODARK)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

masteele64

Hello

I am new to penturning and also trying to turn a few duck calls. I was recently given 2 slabs of freshly cut and milled Bois De Ark.

My question is, how long should I let it dry before I turn something out of it?

It has been cut and out of the saw mill for maybe a month and it has a bright yellow color.

Mark
Conway, Ar

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dario

I've read that Osage Orange takes a long time to dry but I don't know how slow.

On all wood, note that the smaller the size, the faster it dries...so cut them to pen blanks (as soon as possible) if that is what you intend to use them for. Other factors that influence drying are; heat, air movement, and humidity.

Do note that some wood are prone to cracking if it dries super fast so you have to find a good "compromise".

I use the microwave drying method a lot whenever I need anything dried "today".

Hello

cut it into blanks, wraps it in paper bags and play with it this time next year...that isn't a definite time frame, just a guess based on experience

Rifleman1776

I turn a lot of OO. And, yes, it can take a while to dry. For pen blanks, seal the ends and heat in microwave. I stack so air can circulate and give about 30 second zaps then let stand for a week or so. Experiment. For the duck calls, you can rough turn on centers to a little larger than final size then bore your holes and wait a couple weeks or gently micro zap.

Rifleman1776

Originally posted by Pastor John

The rule of thumb is that it needs to dry for one year plus a year for each inch of wood thickness.

That may be true for some species in uncut lumber. But, my experience with OO is that pen blanks, stored properly will dry much quicker than that.

JohnU