FP ink & pumps

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Firefyter-emt

I had posted up a question in the "show off" forum by mistake, I did get an answer on a ink pump and ordered one from Bear Tooth Woods (the Schmidt ink pump) that will be going into a Jr. Statesman I am making myself. I also ordered some Noodlers ink as it seemed to be a highly recomended ink. I bought the "Luxury Blue" (see their description below) This is what I want to get some info on. I work as an Insurance appraiser and there are many times I am out in the rain. I have an umbrella to keep stuff dry but my papers can get wet. I tend to use a pencil, but an curious. First how fast does this ink dry? Is it at least as fast as the stuff that comes in the disposable refills? Second, I have to assume that if the ink gets say a drop of water on it while it's drying, it will run.

Are there any users of this ink here, if so, any tips, tricks, likes or dislikes?? Do I have to flush the pump or even use a new one with diffrent inks. Is there any way to "store" one with ink while another color is used? That is not likely as I like to use a nice blue myself.

"Noodler’s Ink has formulated a NEW Eternal Blue with fluorescent, yet conservative blue color. It has been formulated with “Bullet Proof†qualities so that it is impervious to water, bleach, and light. It is as fraud-proof as Noodler’s “Bullet Proof†Black. Waterproof, Bleach-Proof and in the manufacturer’s words “Bullet-Proof.â€

4.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
Get the bullet-proof ink. It is fast drying and after dried, should not be hurt by moisture. As regards changing ink colors, make another fountain pen! [:D] Seriously, it takes awhile to purge the nib of one color and change colors. I don't think it is worth it unless it is a long-term change of colors.

FWIW,

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam