Fly Rods

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from PENZZZ

PENZZZ

I've been building fly rods for many years, but for the last year or so I've added my own lathe work, the wood insert in the reel seat. The turning part hasn't been difficult, but I've spend a lot of time working with Cyanoacrylate, Spar Urethane and Moisture Cure Urethane finishes. The wood is turned past target diameter, then successive coats of finish are built up to beyond target diameter. Wet sanding with 400/800/1000/1500/2000 grit sandpaper is followed with 8000 and 12000 micromesh. The final steps are two grades of car polish.

The wood on this rod is redwood lace burl.

BTW, my log in name has nothing to do with pen turning.

Jeff

Attachments

• P4194965Small.jpg
    P4194965Small.jpg
    47.8 KB · Views: 620
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

GaryMadore

Nice work Jeff!

Love the trim bands.

What do you use on your wrappings? It looks like hi-build, but I guess it could be a couple of coats of thin....

Cheers!

Gary

PENZZZ

Thank you for the kind words. For this particular rod I used high build, but the applications are spread on very thin. Usually three light coats are applied. It's hard to say how many hours go into a rod, as there are independent stages like gluing the cork rings and turning the grip. Then there's the reel seat insert which takes a week of applications and required drying time before sanding and polishing the finish coats. Adding a feather inlay also adds time.

Overall, the assembly and guide wrapping isn't difficult to learn, but like pen turning and finishing requires an attention to detail. "Fit and Finish" run through my mind during the process.

Thanks again,
Jeff

Attachments

• P4194967Small.jpg
    P4194967Small.jpg
    32.7 KB · Views: 285

HawksFeather

Jeff,