Fist attempt at selling

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

AKHammonds

Hello to all-
I am kind of new to this pen making, but I have an opportunity to sell my work in a gift shop. They want to know what I would charge for each pen. The first order would be 50 and then more if they sell well. I have decided to use cigar kits and comfort kit. My question is where would be the cheapest source that would still have acceptable quality. I just finished 10 comfort pens I got from e-bay; they were cheap but half of them had slimline bands so any profit would have been lost in the time it took to make a new band???
Thanks
Allen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
If you make a custom band, you raise the price...I would say you make the price what the market would bear. I sell a Euro ballpoint with Irish bog oak in rhodium for $80.00 in an Irish boutique. I would sell it on my own for $50.00. How much marketing would you have to do to sell that many pens? You're probably saving money if you sold it to them for $10.00 less than you would on your own, but their customer may be willing to pay more from that seller. You are lucky to find a gift shop willing to purchase that many pens with out knowing they can sell even one.

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam
Hello to all-
I am kind of new to this pen making, but I have an opportunity to sell my work in a gift shop. They want to know what I would charge for each pen. The first order would be 50 and then more if they sell well. I have decided to use cigar kits and comfort kit. My question is where would be the cheapest source that would still have acceptable quality. I just finished 10 comfort pens I got from e-bay; they were cheap but half of them had slimline bands so any profit would have been lost in the time it took to make a new band???
Thanks
Allen
Talk to them about what kind of price they think pens will sell