First trip to a specialty store.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sgtralph

Ok folks, if you'll recall my introduction only a few weeks ago, I'm brand new to this hobby and I have no equipment at all. As luck would have it, I've been sent to Pennsylvania on a business trip and amazingly, the office is only 20 minutes away from Penn State Industries. On that note, I was wondering if anyone has an opinion of, or experience with the Turncrafter Commander 12" VS Midi lathe? Its priced at $480 and includes an extension bed.
Thanks,
Ralph

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bensoelberg

The president of my local turning club bought one for himself and one for the club. When we tried to turn it on during a meeting, it made a loud noise and refused to start. We've never gotten it to work. Shortly after that, our president reported that he is having trouble with his as well. He says that the belt will no longer stay on the pulleys. I'd have second thoughts about buying it based on those two lathes.

PenMan1

I'd pass on the TurnCrafter. All those I know that have purchased this machine have had one problem after another.

For about the same money, you can get a Ricon. For not much more money, you can get a Jet or a Delta.

RDH79

Turncrafter VS for 3 yrs

I have had a Turncrafter VS for 3 yrs. The tailstock is very slopy and doesnt line up. So I dont turn on it anymore. I just us it for finishing. The only other problem was the switch. But I took it apart and fixed that myself. The lathe I turn on is a Jet. perfectly centers and wouldnt trade it for anyother.