First antler pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from bmac

Status
Not open for further replies.

bmac

I got my shipment of antlers from Bill and this is my first attempt at turning antler. It's an El Grande.

Bobby McCarley
Louisiana

200521112956_DSCN0052.jpg

200521113036_DSCN0053.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
G

The kit sets off the antler well!
How did you like working with the antler?

elody21

Good Job! It looks great! Have you got the smell of antler out of your nose yet?

Tropical

Nice looking pen. I have never turned antler myself but I have read here that it SMELLLLLSSSS! How did you find the odour?

G

Originally posted by elody21
<br />Good Job! It looks great! Have you got the smell of antler out of your nose yet?
Just in passing.
I've noticed that a lot of people comment or complain of the smell while turiing antler.
Many also complain about CA fumes.
I'm wondering if those who experience this have a D.C. hooked up for their lathes.
I turn a lot of antler, and also use CA quite a bit while turning.
I have a D.C. boot directly behind the lathe and don't experience any problems with odors or fumes.
Just wondering.
Maybe time for a poll.

bmac

Thanks for all of the comments. I appreciate them. For a first time material it went OK. Kind of hard to drill something that is not straight, but managed. It turned better than I thought it would, no chip out and no catches. As far as the smell, I wore a respirator and kept a DC on while turning, so no problems there. Overall experience in my opinion was good and plan on turning a few more.

One question I have is, has anyone had a antler pen laser engraved? How does it do?

Again, thanks for the comments
Bobby McCArley
Louisiana

G

I asked about the laser engraving at Woodturningz as far as antler goes and Jason said it turned out nice.
As far as drilling antler goes I use a bandsaw sled and a cabinet type clampI rip cut it and turn it 90º and then rip it again.