Fire Piston

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from dabull24

dabull24

Hey guys, Just wanted to show you guys how my first fire piston turned out... Made it out of a beautiful piece of cocobolo. I am new to the lathe so I experimented around with coves and grooves and such. Let me know what ya think!
100_0456-1.jpg

100_0457-1.jpg

100_0459-1.jpg

100_0460.jpg

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dabull24

It creates an ember by compression. You put some tinder in the end of the actual piston part then slam it in the hole and pull out, thus heating up the air which turns the piece of tinder into a smoldering ember to start a fire.

Chasper

Nice work, it looks good and if you got it to ignite, they you got it very precise. I've made and sold a few. Be careful if you sell them, they are very tricky to keep operating properly. Too much grease on the shaft, damp tender, negative attitudes, full moons, high temp, low temp, breeze, no breeze and about anything at all can keep them from working properly. One of the people I sold to felt that for the price he paid that he should get something as dependable as a .99 Bic lighter.

medemt

Tim,

First off, very nice job on the fire starter. I saw these some time ago on this forum and did some research on them. I even bought one on ebay.

I had a few questions if you don't mind.
1. What are the dimensions of the bore and the piston?
2. What kind of tolerance did you hold on the both?
3. What was the dimension of the tinder holder recess - diameter and depth?
4. From the pictures, the bottom picture looks like the piston is a very dark color. Are the pictures of the same piston or did you make multiples.

I realy like the coves and grooves, as I think that it not only makes the piston look good but it gives the person using it a better grip. I have read articles from people that use these and often times they complain about not having the grip.

Can't wait to see the video.

Very nice job!

Dan