finishing advice

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Nolan

I am new to pen turning and have been reading everyones finishing techniques, which just seems to make more questions. I have currently turned about 40 pen and have done aprox. 15 different woods. Even snakewood and red mallee. I have finised by sanding through 1000 then shellawax. My personal taste is for a more natural grained look but I know people buying my pens might want the super finish. Any advice on a way to get the super finish? Please be specific as I have only done the process explained above.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mrcook4570

I hope you are able to avoid the eventual cracking of the snakewood. Heat (friction) is certainly the enemy of snakewood.

As for finishes, you may want to look into CA, lacquer, or enduro. There are many different ways to apply them - just experiment and see what gives you the results you are looking for.

gerryr

If you want high gloss and a finished pen in the shortest possible time, then go with CA. It has a bit of a learning curve and sometimes you have to take it off and start over. If you're not in a hurry to assemble the pen, you can use spray lacquer or Enduro. Both require that you set the blanks aside for at least a week for the finish to cure. I haven't used Enduro, but I have used spray lacquer and it's pretty easy.

For the real scoop on finishing go to Russ Fairfield's site, everything you ever wanted to know about finishing and then some.

http://www.woodturner-russ.com/FinishingSecrets.html

And welcome to the IAP!

RogerGarrett

Originally posted by gerryr
<br />If you're not in a hurry to assemble the pen, you can use spray lacquer or Enduro. Both require that you set the blanks aside for at least a week for the finish to cure. I haven't used Enduro, but I have used spray lacquer and it's pretty easy.

Gerry,