Exploding blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

AZturner

Hello,

I'm new to wood turning and have finished 3 or 4 kits so far. I have already had 3 blanks 'explode' on me on the lathe. The first, a piece of figured walnut, second one was a piece of cocobolo, and another piece of walnut again this evening. This is getting frustrating!

The first two were assembled with CA, and it looked like part of the problem at least was due to incomplete glue coverage. I switched to epoxy on my latest ones, thinking it would solve that problem, but it doesn't seem to have. I am applying plenty of excess glue, it is oozing out as I spin it slowly to insert it.

Is there a trick to getting complete glue contact? Is this part/all of the problem, or is it something else that I'm doing wrong?

Thanks!

Here is a photo of the first one (walnut/CA)...I will try to take a shot of the epoxied one to post tomorrow.

1080Wayne

Cross cut or angle cut blanks are always prone to the type of failure you have experienced because the wood has lower shear strength parallel to the grain than across it . Make sure your tool of choice is super sharp and take very thin cuts . On porous woods it sometimes helps to apply thin CA and then turn it down . Several iterations of the process may be required .

plano_harry

CA and epoxy will generally work fine, but as Wayne noted, you are taking on some tough grain that wants to come apart. A couple of suggestions - try gorilla glue. Swab the hole with a damp q-tip and then insert your sanded tube covered with gorilla glue. It will expand to fill any voids where you have not been a good bond in the past. Suggestion two is to find a pen friend who can stabilize your blank before you turn it.

I was blowing up straight grained purple heart (from aggressive turning) until I switched from CA to gorilla. Later I blew up the first 2 of 12 highly figured amboyna blanks until I got a friend to stabilize them for me. No more problems - they turn like plastic!