Drill Press Vise

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JHFerrell

Jim, I haven't actually got one, but one of my buddies at work does. He is very happy with his. I have the Paul Huffman and it is worth both the wait and every penny you pay for it. I started with the one from PSI and quickly realized it wasn't going to keep me satisfied for long.

If you have a Woodcraft store nearby, check out the new one they have from General International. It's pretty heavy duty and about the same price as the Rockler.

maxwell_smart007

Lead Moderator
Staff member
middle of nowhere in the great, white North
General International Vice looks pretty good...here's a pic from the website:

2008418181544_70-120.jpg

markgum

I picked up the less expensive model from WC. I'm happy with it. Used a couple of C clamps to hold it to the base of the drill press. So far it works well. but,, I'm just beginning.

holmqer

Local Chapter Leader
I've got the Rockler press/vise and it seems to work ok. Once I clamped it to my drill press table, I've never had to move it despite running variously sized blanks through it as the self centering feature works fine.

I assemble my pens on the drill press.

My only long term concern is that the threads pass through some plastic bushings that have a groove cut into them that slips into a thin metal bracket. I suspect that either the bushing or the bracket will eventually fail.

walking_tall