Does anybody sell assembled inlay blanks?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ramaroodle

I'm a newbie so I apologize in advance if this is a dumb question. Just curious. I'd be willing to pay extra for an inlay kit that is already on a 3/8 or 27/64 tube that I just need to cut to length, turn or sand and finish. I've only done a couple but seems like there's more inherent risk of damaging the blank either in assembly or turning especially when I am selling the pen. Putting those microscopic parts together seems more like the skills of a watchmaker than a woodworker.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

studioseven

I just completed a blank with the American eagle and these itty-bitty stars. Quite a challenge for my stubby fingers and failing eyesight. It was the most challenging blank I have ever worked on. I was able to complete it and have to say it did turn out really nice.

Seven

ramaroodle

I just completed a blank with the American eagle and these itty-bitty stars. Quite a challenge for my stubby fingers and failing eyesight. It was the most challenging blank I have ever worked on. I was able to complete it and have to say it did turn out really nice.

Seven

LOL. That's what I mean. It was "watchmaker" challenging. Didn't really involve woodworking skills. Stubby fingers, a trip to Rite-Aid for tiny tweezers and a set of 3.0 readers!

its_virgil

https://www.etsy.com/shop/WoodenOddities

I'm a newbie so I apologize in advance if this is a dumb question. Just curious. I'd be willing to pay extra for an inlay kit that is already on a 3/8 or 27/64 tube that I just need to cut to length, turn or sand and finish. I've only done a couple but seems like there's more inherent risk of damaging the blank either in assembly or turning especially when I am selling the pen. Putting those microscopic parts together seems more like the skills of a watchmaker than a woodworker.

leehljp

Member Liaison
https://www.etsy.com/shop/WoodenOddities