Do you guys apply any finish to Polyclay pens?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SteveWatson

I recently started playing around with polyclay just to see what I can do with it. I really, really like the artistic qualities you can express in the clay but I have no idea what finish (if any) to put on them. The clay itself is not especially hard after it is baked as you can put a slight temporary indention in it with your figernail that will "heal" in half a minute or less and the experiment I tried with CA was not especially promising. Just looking for some expert info :biggrin:

Attachments

• IMG_4876.jpg
    IMG_4876.jpg
    36.7 KB · Views: 293
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KnB Polymers

Just a helpful tidbit (hope I'm not stepping out of line) ... after baked they should be hard. It may be your temperature is not hot enough while baking. I do mine on about 285 or so for 30 minutes.
That flame looking one is absolutely gorgeous!!

I have started using CA except if they are neutral earth tones. They do not look right if they are too shinny. I use Katopolyclay at 315 for 10 min.

Last edited:

SteveWatson

Thanks for the input guys. KnB appreciate the input as well as Ive only made three blanks so far so my learning curve is still pretty steep. Im using Sculpy Premo! clay right now and have been following the directions exactly but im going to increase "cook" time to at least 30 minutes and may increase the temperature up a bit. Have you guys tried different clays? I stuck with the Premo because I was a little concerned if I tried mixing different brands they wont "flow" the same although I do see some nice potential in mixing brands in the future to slow certain layers. As I said ALL input is appreciated.

And very nice pen Ruby! Im not a big flower guy :) but that pen is awesome!

Toni

Are you using an oven thermometer to double check oven temps? Increase your baking time to 30 minutes, but I would not increase the temperature.