Do I need a new lens?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rherrell

I have a Canon Power Shoot S2IS and I can't seem to take close up photos that are in focus. I've tried every adjustment the camera has and have spent countless hours here and other camera sites reading everything I can and I just can't get it. Is this not a good macro camera? Would a new lens help? Amazon has a Canon 500D 58mm lens for $89. I'm "photographically challenged" so I need all the help I can get. All of the photos in my album are shot on auto mode and I'd like to do better. Thanks in advance!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

CrazyBear

Are you trying to take a macro style shot ie. the camera very close to the pen. if so why not try setting the camera up on a tripod a couple of feet away and then using the 12x zoom to zoom in on the pen. you should be able to focus that way.

CrazyBear

I am no expert on photographs but having looked at your album the only problem I see is depth of field focusing ( where you are in focus at the nearest point and out of focus the further along the pen you go)What I tried. Set up the camera on a tripod. Adjust your F.stop( thats the little numbers on the bottom which say 2.8 etc)the higher the number the wider your focal length will be(I may have got that bit the wrong way round:D:D)Set your camera to timer mode and no flash. Take the pic and let the camera sort out the photo. Its digital so play about with the F.stop numbers till you get a photo that you like(it doesnt cost you anything and you learn more about your camera this way)

I hope this helps and any mistakes I have made can be rectified by others who know better

rherrell