Desert Ironwood Bangle

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from BangleGuy

BangleGuy

Hi all! I am fairly new to IAP and wanted to show one of my latest projects. This is a Desert Ironwood Bangle set over a 316 stainless steel core. I used micromesh and renaissance wax to bring out the chatoyance. It has some real depth, but it is hard to see that in the photo. It measures 2.55" ID (3" OD) x about 1.0" length. Thanks for looking :)

BG

Attachments

• tn_Ironwood (1).jpg
    tn_Ironwood (1).jpg
    25.5 KB · Views: 510
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BangleGuy

Thanks Eric! And I will be trying some CA finishes in the near future. I have a Manzanita burl bangle with some awesome turquoise inlay that I want to try out CA. I will also try the CA on a BAB bangle. Always trying to be better, just not always successful! LOL

TerryDowning

OK, I've been looking at the photo.
Is the wood on top of the metal or is the metal inside of the wood? Or Both??

Either way, how'd you do that??

BangleGuy

Hi All! Thanks for the great comments. Yes, I sell the stainless steel cores which are made from 316 surgical stainless. My best friend owns a CNC machine shop and I am working on mating CNC metal parts with jewelry applications. It just so happens that I am also a certified wood nut! So I started with wood/metal products.

I posted some pictures which show how I made this bangle on a Tips, Tricks and FAQs thread. Thanks again!

Eric

Last edited by a moderator:

holmqer

Local Chapter Leader
Do the various sized right hand sides make different width bangles with matching SS beads on both sides?

turner.curtis