CSUSA Ultimate Assembly Tool

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MikeInMo

The other thread about splitting tips during assembly jogged my memory to ask about this. has anyone here used the Ultimate Assembly Tool from CSUSA? I typically use a vice, clamp, or my drill press for assembly, but this seems intriguing from a control and alignment stanpoint. I was thinking it might work better than the alignment blocks I made for a clamp (that recently went into the witness protection program somewhere in my shop). I was not impressed with the pen assembly press I tried before.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldb2000

I've been using a home made version for a couple of months now and I love it . I just turned some delrin to fit the mt2 taper . Cost about $2.00 to make .

MikeInMo

MikeInMo

I've been using a home made version for a couple of months now and I love it . I just turned some delrin to fit the mt2 taper . Cost about $2.00 to make .

I thought about doing this and still may. This may be a duh question, but where do you get chunks of delrin?

The CSUSA set up looks like it has o-rings. Any idea why? Did you use any?

Do you mount a centering rod? I was thinking of using a small piece cut off the end of a bent madrel shaft I have (darn shop gnomes) for this. Bushings could be used to center larger ID tubes.

markgum

hmmmm maybe something to add to the next CSUSA Group buy?? I use the woodcraft model and it works. I have used a clamp also when away from home. must say the pen press is less stressful on me.

Randy_

Butch: Be prepared. I received a nasty email from a friend of the "inventor" several months ago when I suggested one could do a home-made version from shop scraps for very little expense even though I had been using something very similar in principle for nearly a year before the commercial item ever showed up for public consumption. I made mine out of a couple pieces of hardwood scraps rather than Delrin. and that seem to work just fine,