Colour Choices Painting Tubes, A Difference

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi,

Just sharing some of my experience here if it helps some of you regarding painting tubes.

I have been painting my tubes with acrylics and celluloid’s for a couple of years now. Initially I used black paint and was happy with my results, they seemed to densify the colours and enhance the look.

This is typical of what I was getting with black painted tubes , the blank is a crimson red from Craft Supply.

RedCelluloidblack.jpg

In the last year I have begun to experiment with other paint colours for my tubes, settling on white as my favorite.

Here is the same pen design, same crimson red celluloid from Craft Supply with white tubes.

RedCelluloidWhite.jpg

I like the luminescence that the white gives in this material, and if sales is a judge I sell more white tubed pens than black.

I thought this might be worth showing as I sometimes read or even get emails from fellow forum members on the same topic.

Hope this helps add to the design options you may consider.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jthompson1995

I agree about the difference it makes in the color you paint the tubes and you can get some interesting effects by using contrasting paint colors and/or metallic/opelescaent paints as well. I will many times paint one coat of sparkly fingernail polish followed by an opaque acrylic. On very clear blanks (inlace comes to mind) you can make it look like the tubes dissapear because the sparkly paint blends so well with the blank. I usually try to match the color of the paint to the main coloring of the blank. On the blank you used for the pens you show, I usually use red paint for the tubes so they fade away better. I've got lots of things I still want to try along these lines, but I think there could be a lot of cool effects just by varying the paint.

mick