Cheers from British Columbia

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Kodi

Hello fellow pen makers!

I'm new to this Association and fascinated by the size of the membership. I've made pens off and on over a few years now...but since retirement last year my output has increased.

I presently have a few requests to make pens for people who wish to pay me!!! Yahoo:rotfl:

I'm not sure yet how to connect with those who have answers, but "finishing" is where my present questions lie. Is there anyone who can help?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SDB777

Welcome aboard!

Getting paid for something you do in the garage, shed, or fully outfitted workshop is just a bonus. I really love turning.

As far as finishing goes.....pretty sure at least one person here nows someone that knows what they are doing.

Scott (see you around) B

darrin1200

Hi kodi Welcome to penturning.

Here is a link to a couple of videos I watched when I started.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=orcgOf4siqc
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9nXSaGOHMK8
http://www.youtube.com/user/grub32#p/u/6/p9X_XG9lkig

This video got me started with the CA but I have done a little of my own experimenting. Heres what I do.

1) Sand blank to 600 with sandpaper.

2) Wipe off with a paper towel.

3) For an applicator I use a blue shop towel cut in quarters then fold one quarter 4 times to get a strip. I run my lathe at about 1/2 speed (1800 RPM)

4) Apply 1 drop of Boiled Linseed Oil (BLO) it seems to work as a lubricant to keep the towel from sticking. The one drop is critical.

5) Apply 2 drops of Medium CA over the drop of BLO ensureing it is completely covered.

6) Apply this to the blank as demonstrated in the video. Do not let it get to hot. I have found that with my method you only need to apply until fingers are getting warm. It is not important to get a super shine yet.

7) Repeat this until you have at least 6 coats.