Cheapest finish?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jay_bobo

Hi I'm new to penturning and was wondering what kind of finish I should get, I don't want something to expensive just something to practice with. Thanks and thing is helpful!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

paintspill

You will hear alot of talk about ca finishes around here and they look great and really aren't that expensive in the grand scheme of things because the do go a long ways. But from a beginner's stand point I think you should look at some of the wax options or what are commonly referred to as friction finishes. They are by far the easiest to apply and probably the cheapest. The one that I am currently using consists of 2 bars, a dark and Light. Super easy to use and they seem to last forever

Lucky2

What I use is the cheapest CA glue I could get, I got it at one of the local dollar stores. It works fine, and it can be used to glue the brass tubes into the blanks also. Usually you can get two different concentrations to pick from, thick and thin both work well. And your not going to get much cheaper then a dollar to do a pen, one tube is plenty to do a pen. Good luck and, just don't glue yourself to anything!!
Len

dogcatcher

Considering how much finish is used on a pen, the cost factor is really not something you need to worry about. An easy and good finish is what you should to be looking for. All of the finishes have some learning curve. Look in the library and read up on the various finishes, pick one and try it.

Monty

Group Buy Coordinator
What I use is the cheapest CA glue I could get, I got it at one of the local dollar stores. It works fine, and it can be used to glue the brass tubes into the blanks also. Usually you can get two different concentrations to pick from, thick and thin both work well. And your not going to get much cheaper then a dollar to do a pen, one tube is plenty to do a pen. Good luck and, just don't glue yourself to anything!!
Len