Casting Problems, need your help!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

teamtexas

Let me lay this out so you know what the circumstances are. I'm new to casting (on my second quart of "Clear Casting Resin"). I was working in my shop in about 110 degree heat. I borrowed an image and reworked it a bit to fit my needs. I resized the image and printed it on glossy postcard paper on my inkjet (Canon) printer. I used the best settings for ink color. This dried for a few hours before I cut it out and glued it to the sanded tube with some thick CA. It dried for about 15 minutes while I set up the tube with plugs and blocks to hold it up in my casting mold. I sprayed it with a aresol matte finish spay made for photos about 10 minutes before casting it. I poured the resin in while it was still a bit thin, pouring to the side of the tube. The seam of the picture was positioned upward to help stop air bubbles from forming.
1_joker3.JPG

In this photo you can see the green square is CA that squeezed out while I rolled the photo onto the tube. The red circle looks like an air bubble??
2_joker.JPG

In this photo the green square shows what I think might be chatter, but for some reason I can't seem to sand it out. The red circles show more air (or is it moisture from the matte finish spray ??).

Comments would be very helpful, thanks!

Dan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

theidlemind

Decals go on top of resins, stickers get cast into blanks. What you are trying to do probably should not be done with decals. They just don't hold we'll enough. As resin cures it shrinks and moves around. That usually causes it to come loose on places.
And ca needs a couple of days to "off-gas" before it gets cast or you will run into bubbles also.
I hope that makes sense and helps.....
I just re read your post and realized you didn't use decals after all. Still looks like a loss of adhesion. Might be from resin too hot causing excess shrinkage too.

Last edited:

JeremyLP

Hi Dan,