"Casing" Pen Contest Entries

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Sylvanite

Sylvanite

The "Casing" Pen Contest allowed up to three entries this time, so I decided to toss in a few of the ideas I've been experimenting with.

Rifled Cartridge Pen - A Bullet Pen with a Twist
This pen features a hexagonal spiral cut into the brass shellcase and echoed in the cocobolo upper barrel. It's meant to portray the rifling of a gun barrel.
attachment.php

Gunpowder Pen
Don't try to take this pen through airport security :biggrin:. It's made with real gunpowder.
attachment.php

30-30-30-30-30 Pen
I've been wanting to make a shellcase fountain pen for a long time, and this is my first try. It's constructed from cases in 5 different calibers, all of which take a 30-cal bullet. It's relatively thin for a kitless pen, so I tied embellishments on instead of turning them.
attachment.php

attachment.php

These were all learning experiences, which is the true prize for entering the contest. I enjoyed making them. I hope you enjoyed viewing.

Regards,
Eric

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ToddMR

Wow on all of them! You did a great job on each one. I doubt I would have the skills to try anything like that and have it turn out so great. I love all of them!

bluwolf

Eric, don't know what to say that hasn't been said already. Those are definitely a fresh angle on an old idea. Well done!

Sylvanite

Some Assembly Details

There were a few questions on how the pieces went together, so here are some pictures.

First of all, the centerband sections (made from 300 WinMag cartridges) are threaded (12mmx0.8mm triple-start) on the inside.
Centerbands.jpg

I cut a short piece of a 30-06 case at the head and threaded it to match on the outside, and 3/8"-20 on the inside of the case web.
3006Threaded.jpg

The nib section grip is made from a 7.62x39mm case, turned down at the head, drilled out, and threaded to screw into the above coupler.
NibHolder.jpg