Can I use left over Hardwood Flooring?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WyldKnyght

Hello,

I'm still new to all this and was wondering if someone could help me.

I have a couple boxes of leftover 3/4" Pacific Cherry Hardwood Finished Flooring.

Can I remove the finish and use the wood and create my own blanks.

I was thinking of sanding or ripping the finished side and gluing 2 pieces together, then cut in 3/4" blanks.

Any comments or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Craig

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Made one from cherry flooring that my brother in law gave me. He passed away before I got it done. I gave it to his wife and it means so much to her now. Turned out beautiful.

edstreet

This is one of the big pitfall epic traps as there is no 'right' answer.

Many flooring materials are laminates, many still are very thin and not the material they look like. However thickness is also an issue but need not be an issue as there is this technique called segmenting that works just fine with to thin items.

However you also have to look at and consider is the grade of the material. Flooring materials tends to run on the lower grade sides. Meaning less figure, less uniformity and so forth. Higher grade you get the less lumpy (as for figure) you get.

Long story short:

Flooring needs volume to fill the needed space and lower grades work better.

Pen blanks are small volume and the lower the figure the less appeal you have so they need high figure but not that much volume.

nava1uni

I have used flooring and made some very nice pens from it. Since you already have it you can use it to practice as well. You could also glue it together with other wood and turn larger objects. If you do this you will have to remove the finish so it will glue and make a strong bond.

Cmiles1985