CA finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tomtedesco

I am new to using CA on pens, watched several videos from different turners about CA finish. When I apply thin CA I get good results, smooth surface and very glossy. However when I move up to medium I start to get uneven surfaces and I don't like the results, sand it off and start over. I am not using spray, just letting the CA air dry. First, what am I missing or doing wrong? Second, it there a difference between 15 to 20 coats of thin CA or two or three of medium CA?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Warren White

Some random thoughts...

It is hard to say what the problem is without actually being there and watching your procedure. Even with that caveat, let me jump in...

I assume that your CA is fairly new. I have had very good success with 2P-10, but others like what they are using. So, I will also assume that what you are using is OK. That brings me to your procedure.

First off, I use accelerator all of the time, and I don't have any problems with it. I would emphasize that you must be very careful not to use too much! I do two or three very, very brief shots, and I have my dust collector on so there isn''t much hitting the blank. I then feel the blank and don't add any more CA until there is no drag on my finger as I touch the spinning blank.

I put a drop of CA on a folded paper towel (I actually use something more akin to the paper hand towels that are used in restrooms), and quickly wipe it from side to side. Don't put too much, and don't lolly gag with the application. A quick spritz with the accelerator, feel the blank, and then when it is dry, on a clean portion of the paper towel, apply the next drop.