Burl ?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

djz9

Hello to all, I am hoping someone with some Burl experience might be able to help me identify this piece. I picked it up on an online auction, so I have no idea what region or species it may be. It has a poly coat, but if you look at one of the picture you will see that section is cracked off. I see mainly cocoa, and coffee color with very little red in it.

Also, as this is my first attempt at cutting, what is the correct way to get the best yield? Would it be a straight cut, diagonal, or crosscut?

Any info would be greatly appreciated as always.

Attachments

• 100_1110.jpg
    100_1110.jpg
    38.8 KB · Views: 232
  • 100_1111.jpg
    100_1111.jpg
    73.8 KB · Views: 180
  • 100_1113.jpg
    100_1113.jpg
    65.8 KB · Views: 226
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Akula

cut depends on what your projects would be? pens, bottle stoppers other? I would cut it and turn a vase or bowls...yep, vase would be my choice

Justturnin

I would take the sides off and set them to the side for some AWESOME worthless wood casting then I would just start taking cuts striaght up the burl. you dont have to worry about cross cutting or anything because it is burl, they are all cross cuts. That is the beauty of Burl. Good luck. Once you get it cut up post some pics so we can see what is in that nasty icecream cone.

seamus7227

cut depends on what your projects would be? pens, bottle stoppers other? I would cut it and turn a vase or bowls...yep, vase would be my choice

I agree, this would look awesome as a vase! please be sure to post the after pics when you tear into it.

djz9

Thank you and yes it would make a wonderful vase, however I could never see all of that beautiful wood sitting on the floor as waste. One piece is nice, but several pen and pencil sets, along with a couple of fountain pen with desk holders could be spectacular. As soon as I get up the nerve to cut into it, I will put up some photos.
As always, thanks