Breaking Pen Blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I am a beginner and I just broke an expensive pen blank when drilling threw it. I do not want to go too slow and create too much friction/heat or drill too fast and split the wood. What can I do to get the correct speed? Please PM me or just reply on here.
___
|\ | / \
| \ || :thunder:| SPAMMING!
| \ || |
| \| \____/

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

les-smith

Really sharp bits and a really light touch. Shouldn't need a lot of pressure to get it to drill. I use a Drill Doctor to make sure my bits stay really sharp. I drill mine at 1100 to 1700 rpm.

What type of blank did you break?

avbill

Several points:
1. If you drill through the blank use a waste block under the blank. This prevents some blow outs

2. If drilling either acrylic or wood clear the drill bit often-- if you don't the chips heat up and crack the blank.. Then the chips heat up they expand that could cause blank cracking. and blow out.

3. Then a drill bit starts to squeak is one that is getting hot. Clear the drill more often.

Thanks everyone!
By the way:I have no clue what kind of wood it was. I brought home a block of wood and my Dad carved it in to a blank

wdcav1952

Activities Manager Emeritus
Ryan, we all shatter blanks. Like the guys mentioned, SHARP drills, a light touch with the drill press and back out numerous times to clear chips. Most important of all, have fun with the hobby!!

nava1uni

How are you drilling the blank? Do you use a drill press. You might want to start with a softer wood. Do you have a need for some softer blanks? PM me and I will send you a few to start turning that turn nicely. I had some turners help me out when I first started.

scotirish