Brass tubing

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Graham Evans

This is my first thread, so please bear with me.:eek:

I am looking for a supplier of the brass tube that is used in pen kits that I have been making for the last two years. Most kits, I believe come from China.
The sizes I have are: outside dia 6.8mm, inside dia. 6.25mm. So these are for use with the standard 7 mm drill bit pens. What I want to do is make things which are longer than the tubes provided but using some of the same 'press fit' components.
I live in the UK and have looked at various brass tube manufacturers, all to no avail.
Can anyone please help?
Bristolpenmanuk

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
exoticblanks.com, woodnwhimsies.com, and even pennstateind.com. Im sure there are others and I would use the first two if I had a choice.

edstreet

You will find that most of the tubes are extruded and most of the kits are oddball sizes. Sometimes I think those oddball sizes is for job security ;) There are some that use standard tubing sizes, 7mm, 3/8 for example.

monophoto

Most of the major pen kit vendors also sell spare brass tubes in 10" lengths.

I have found that traditional hardware stores here in the US carry brass tubing in longer lengths. This tubing tends to come in the standard imperial sizes - 1/8", 1/4", 3/8", etc rather than the metric sizes used by the Taiwanese pen kit manufacturers. More importantly, the material thickness is different from that used in pen kits - I bought some kits that used 3/8" tubes, and tried to substitute hardware store tubing, but found that the ID was slightly smaller which meant that the components wouldn't press into the tubing (at least, not without forcing something such that the tubing expanded and cracked the turning).

toddlajoie