Back painting Rotacrylics?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

qquake

I'm working on a Rotacrylics hummingbird blank. Is back painting necessary? If so, what color? Black?

Attachments

• 007.jpg
    007.jpg
    98.5 KB · Views: 96
  • 010.jpg
    010.jpg
    391.4 KB · Views: 90
  • 062.jpg
    062.jpg
    167 KB · Views: 94
  • 063.jpg
    063.jpg
    200.5 KB · Views: 86
  • 066.jpg
    066.jpg
    283.6 KB · Views: 90
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sorcerertd

How thick will the wall be on the finished product? Do you want to brighten the colors? While I have no experience with rotacrylics, I would consider silver or white.

Another thought... isn't it 4 am there? Go back to sleep. šŸ˜‰

qquake

The pen is a Jr. Imperial, which uses the same bushings as the Majestic Jr. The hummingbird will be on the lower body. It's a 10.5mm drill bit, and the OD on the bushing is 0.516". So that leaves a wall thickness of 0.051".

And I start work at 5:30, so I'm always up at 3:30. I've always been an early riser. A lot of my best pens are made before 5. šŸ˜“

jttheclockman

Jim I looked at back threads on this subject and found no mention of a need to back paint because his detail work goes all the way through. I did find this video made by Ed that nicely explains how to turn these blanks and what to pay attention to. If you use these it would be a good idea to watch that. Here is Jeff explaining his new creation back then.

https://www.penturners.org/threads/making-improvements.129590/#post-1738235

Ed has a video on his site that explains how to turn those type blanks and the do's and dont's of them. Very helpful.

qquake