Anyone using grapevine?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

timsickels

I'm fairly new to turning and having a ball. I recently cut up a piece of grapevine I had laying in my landscape for years. It has beautiful grain and dark spots throughout, but is a bit splitty and checked. Any ideas? Also I'm using a friction polish on my pens and it does a nice job on the harder woods. What could I use to help fill the softer woods, and produce a harder shinier finish. Thanks.............Timmy from Denver

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
You certainly can turn grape vine - it's a little different from turning tree wood.

Here's a recent thread on the subject
http://www.penturners.org/forum/f178/grape-vine-124824/

and a link to a great thread by George Valentine (Robutacion) regarding his experiences with grape vine -- definitely worth the read
http://www.penturners.org/forum/f66...ed-vine-pen-blanks-closing-31-8-2010-a-65501/

I haven't turned any grape vine myself, but I have a bunch drying that I'll be tackling this spring.

Have fun
Edgar

1080Wayne

I would use thin CA to harden soft spots and minimize problems from splits and checks , but many here prefer full stabilization with Cactus juice or other acrylic . CA is a do-it-yourself process , the others are commercial or semi-commercial businesses unless you want to set yourself up to do them . Someone here might offer to do it for you .

lwalper

Are you talking about real grapevine (that has grapes growing on it) or the wild stuff that grows to the treetops? The wild variety reminds me a bit of the black palm with a fairly open texture and tends to come apart while turning. It will benefit from a little drizzle of thin CA to help hold it together while turning.

zig613