Amalgam mutt finish (not turned but cut)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cmwoodworks

I posted this in another thread then I noticed how old that thread was, sorry. My question basically is, can heat cause pitting of amalgam? Here is our basic process which I posted in the old thread:

"Ok I have a question, probably should be posted in finishing but your talking about the very thing Im looking for answers for.

Im new at working with amalgam BUT we don't turn it. Made quite a few pieces varying colors with very few problems. last piece, it seemed we got a tiny piece that "fell" out right along the color. Tried filling with ca and it kept getting deeper. finally found a solution that worked and got it filled with a beautiful mirror finish.

Next piece, cut a slice of the blank on the band saw, cut pattern out on the scroll saw, sanded front and back on disk sander just to level it, then started hand sanding with 240 then 400 grit and is full of pits or bubbles.
My question is, could the initial sanding on the disk or belt sander, be too hot for amalgam? I have noticed it is way more sensitive to heat than acrylic. So far, it only seemed to have happened with a lava explosion (busy colors). Just curious, Im not about to give up on this yet because I am in love with the finished colors and completely bored with regular acrylic lol.
Thanks in advance for any advice on this."
Julie

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wildman

I had no idea what you were talking about so did a search for alamgam and came up with alloy of mercury (commonly consists of mercury (50%), silver (~22-32%), tin (~14%), copper (~8%), and other trace metals). Still no clue! Are you asking about dental filling material?

Might help if posted a picture of what you are talking about.

Dan Masshardt

Im asking about amalgam mutt turning blanks. as found at Beartoothwoods Bear Tooth Woods - Amalgam-Mutt Large Blanks and manufactured in Texas