Alumilite Pressure Pot lid shifting

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Donna

Hi,
I have the Alumilite pressure pot and am having trouble with it shifting while it is under pressure (I keep the pressure on the low side). I hand tighten the knobs as tight as I possibly can. Does anyone here have any advice for me? Could it be the black gasket under the lid or should I be tightening with a some sort of wrench or something? Any advice is very much appreciated.
Donna

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PaulDoug

Donna, I'm no expert, I haven't even done a cast yet but my first guess would be the lid needs to be tighter. I think the Alumilite site has a FAQ section and if you don't find the answer there you could call or e-mail them. I have a Devilbiss pot and I have to really tighten the lid down or it leaks. I'm going to try to get a new gasket for it before I try using it to cast. I was looking at the pot you have at the Alumilite site and it looks like it have plastic handles. I would try tightening them a little more with pliers but not a whole lot, you could brake them. Also tighten one just snug, do the one across from it same pressure, go to the next one and then the one across from it. Work you way around in that fashion until they are all tight. Hope that makes sense.

Last edited:

Donna

I appreciate your input Paul. I will try your suggestions and will go easy with the pliers. It's possible that it may end up being a gasket issue. I will call the folks over at Alumilite Monday to see what they think also. Many thanks,
Donna

ctubbs