Aligning a JET Mini 1014 ! ! !

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sdemars

I have read and read as how to do this & now think I have a clear understanding. The preferred method written about in the forums is to use "shims'.

Well I decided to call JET Technical Service. I do not agree with their recommendation to solve the problem of head stock and tail stock not lining up . . .

JET Tech said I should place washers as needed under the base as needed and TWIST the bed by tightening the hold down screws . . .

I am not real comfortable with the idea of twisting the bed of the lathe as needed. He further stated that if you move the lathe or seasonal changes will probably require doing this again . . . .

Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated . . . .

Thanks
Steve

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mick

My way of looking at their idea of alignment is this...and this is from a strictly laymans point of view. I've no experience as a machinist or such. If you "twist" the bed to line up the head and tail stocks say with the centers touching then as you move away from that position and "ride the twist of the ways wouldn't the centers go out of alignment again? But....if you use shims under either...or both the head and tail stocks will be in the same position no matter where they are on the ways.
Just my two cents worth.....your mileage may vary!

RAdams

Banned
I think the bed could be out of alignment on a number of axis. If it is straight, but out of allignment, then the shims would work great. But if it is lined up at the headstock, and way off at the other end of the bed, then no amount of shim is going to repair the problem.

I also agree that you probably would be better off not "twisting" the bed as Jet said to do. I wonder if he didn't mean "swing" the bed by twisting the hold down screws...

dang it, now i gotta go look at my lathe.

RAdams

Banned
I think he used some bad words to describe what he was trying to get you to do.