Aftermarket Nibs

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I have made maybe 6 or 7 Fountain Pens. I can not say I am very satisfied with how they write. Sometimes they feel very scratchy.
What is the expert turners opinion regarding replacing nibs for your FPs?
Do we need to replace the nib only or feeder and nib?
Which brand of nibs do you recommend that are better than kit component nibs, but that are not the more expensive top of the line?

Thank you.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

azamiryou

I'm not an expert, but here's the scoop as I know it:

1. Many (not all) kit nibs can be tuned to write just fine. A nib that writes good, is good. There's an article about nib tuning in the library.
  2. Kit nib quality control is poor - some need tuning before they'll work correctly, and some can't even be tuned.
  3. Knowledgeable pen collectors recognize kit nibs and avoid them, which can affect your sales.
  4. Upgrade nibs are readily available and they are easy to change. Look for "Heritance" and Bock nibs from IAP vendors. Steel nibs are not super expensive. Upgrade nibs have much better quality control, but sometimes still need minor tuning. They don't send customers running.
  5. You don't usually have to replace the feed.
  6. I've gotten bad converters in kits, too, so you probably want to have a few spare converters on hand as well.
My advice: if you are making pens for yourself or as gifts, try tuning the kit nibs and use them if you can get them to work. If you want to sell to "pen people" -- upgrade the nibs, period.

OKLAHOMAN

While Matthew is correct in that "SOME" of the component set nibs can be tunes to write "GOOD" and if your going to use it for yourself that might be OK. But most after market nibs start out better than a tuned component set nib and some actually write not good but "GREAT" right out of the box.