Advice for spending my christmas money

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

karrlot

I've been turning bowls for a few years and want to try turning pens. I've looked at the starter set from PSI, which includes the mandrel, chisels, and 10 pen/pencil kits. Is this a good kit, or can I find one better (at about the same price)?

One question I have, is that I've seen mandrels that are MT and some that are threaded. Based on my lathe, I could get a MT#2 or a 8TPI. Is there a reason why I would choose one over the other? Also, any other advice on what I need to purchase to get started?

Thanks,

Joel

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldimick

Joel,

Since you have experience you can probably begin anywhere.

I use a #2 MT simply because that is what I was first shown. The #2 is probably going to fit more lathes. Does the 8TPI have the right size mandrel shaft?

For cheap kits it is going to be hard to beat some of the offers from Woodturningz.com or Ariona Silhouette. I might pick up 5 slim lines and bushings and start there.

In any case welcome!

mrcook4570

If you already have chisels and a lathe, then you really only need a mandrel, kits, and bushings to get started. I'll second the woodturningz and AS suggestion.

JimGo