A thought (but perhaps too subtle) becomes...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Warren White

Warren White

... a new pen!

This is something I have never tried before, but it seems to have worked out OK. I took a Red Bull can (not a plug, since I never drink the stuff) and cut a 3/4" wide strip out of the aluminum. I cut my blank all the way through at ~40 degrees. I then epoxied the aluminum to the blank and clamped it in place.

The end result is pretty, but perhaps too subtle. Anyone know of a thicker aluminum can?

Your thoughts, comments and critiques are always most welcome.

Attachments

• IMG_0433.jpg
    IMG_0433.jpg
    76.8 KB · Views: 416
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Warren White

Gordon and Ken,

I appreciate the insight you have offered. I wonder if you have any inside information you would share regarding drilling the blank with the heavier flashing inside. Wha kind of drill do you suggest?

Incidentally Gordon, the P51 is an amazingly beautiful aircraft. Did you get to fly one of them?

magpens

You'd be a lifetime using up a whole roll of aluminum flashing from Lowe's.

I just go to a metals store or a machine shop and nicely ask if they could please give me some sheet aluminum scraps ! :):biggrin::)

They ask me what thickness, and then are happy to oblige me !

Last edited:

SteveAxelrod

I purchased a package of 4" x 10" x 0.016" sheets of aluminum (2 per pkg) at Ace Hardware for under $5. You can see how I used it in a segmented pen in my 5/27 post entitled "Segmented Pen and Custom Pins". Try the Hobby Lobby at 7050 Amador Plaza Rd, Dublin or Ace Hardware at 5505 Sunol Blvd, Pleasanton. Hobby Lobby carries the same K&S aluminum sheets for $3.49. I used a HSS acrylic drill bit but a normal drill bit should work fine to drill your blanks.

Last edited:

flyitfast