A few candle holders

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from MyKidsDad

MyKidsDad

I took some time off work this week for the holidays and the turning bug bit me. Turned a few oil candle holders and a holder for a tea light.

From left to right: black mesquite (from Argentina according to Woodcraft's website), olivewood (picked up for a song during the local Woodcraft's 12 days of Christmas sale
yellowbiggrin.gif
), a quilted maple/walnut sandwich with a bois de rose collar, and another olivewood. The olivewood tealight holder was supposed to be the twin of the olivewood oil candle holder (I oriented the grain opposite on purpose) but I dropped it and broke the neck where it was thin so reshaped into a tea light holder.

These are my first foray into something other than spindles. Any comments and critiques welcome.

Thanks for looking!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Drcal

GREAT JOB!!!!

Funny, but I turned some tea lights a few days ago. I am not very good at it but like you, I wanted to expand beyond pens and bottle stoppers.

I always run into trouble finishing the bottoms.

Today I turned a confetti light and it went well but it was end grain so I started with spindle turning. spindle is so easy....

I love the tea lights. One thing I like is that , other than the wood, there is no other "parts" investment except for a tea light which I get for about 10 cents at the Dollar Store.

Thanks for sharing. If you have any tips, pass them on.
Carmen

MrPukaShell

GREAT JOB!!!!

Funny, but I turned some tea lights a few days ago. I am not very good at it but like you, I wanted to expand beyond pens and bottle stoppers.

I always run into trouble finishing the bottoms.

Today I turned a confetti light and it went well but it was end grain so I started with spindle turning. spindle is so easy....