New Delta 46-460 Midi Lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Bree

Has anyone gotten one of the new Delta 46-460 Midi Lathes? It looks very, very strong for pen turning. Benchtop size... 1 HP motor... reversible... variable speed down to 250... 24 position indexing... top speed of 4000 RPM... 5 year warranty.

Here is a link to the info on it.

http://www.deltaportercable.com/Products/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=19220

I would be interested to hear any experiences with this machine. I am seriously considering buying one.
:cool::cool::cool:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

hewunch

About the same price as a Jet. I would try to see it first. Compare weight with the jet how solid the ways, and tailstock feel, and the banjo make sure it is stout. Because if I am going to spend Jet $, then I want something better than a Jet.

Rollerbob

Bree, hurry up and buy one and let me know what you think. I have been petting on one for a couple of months but have not bought. I have also heard great things about it!!

Crashmph

I have demo'ed one at the wood craft I work in. I have turned 5 or six pens on it and 2 bowls. It is an absolute dream to work on. Reversible motor is a very nice plus as well. The belt gear change is by far the best I have ever seen. The VS knob has an index to tell you what speed you are working with, and the clearly visabel chart next to the VS knob is a plus too. All around it is a very nice lathe. It is built rather solid IMHO. Solid enough to just sit on a bench to turn pens, but to turn bowls on it you really need to clamp/bolt it to a bench. Gary is right on the money too; the FIVE year warranty is a major plus in my book.

Hope that helps.

Bree

What I like is the power, the belt change system, the VS, and the reverse drive. This thing looks like a V8 compared to 4 cylinder putt putts. And it looks real easy to change the belts. The VR is reported to be very smooth with uniform speed ramping throughout the range.