Dangerous? You decide.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TurtleTom

I've been having a lot of tear out and shattered blanks when doing punky wood, segmented wood especially, and just difficult woods in general so I invented a new technique:
I put a 43 grit sandpaper flapper disc on a 4 1/5" grinder and sand the difficult blanks within a few thousand of the bushings. I use failed slimline uppers (or lowers) fore and aft of the blank on the 7mm mandrel to keep the sander away from the chuck and the mandrel saver. If you have a lot of bushings that would work too. RPM doesn't seem to matter very much.
I've had total success with the technique and generally about 20 to 30 seconds is all it takes to get to the bushings. Don't use much pressure as that could distort the mandrel. Don't quote me on the time because I'm very focused on what I'm doing and could be estimating the time all wrong.
Caveat: I've been using grinders for 55 years and am quite expert in their use having worked as a machinist and oilfield weldor for many years and even after. Starting out I was cut pretty bad with a cup brush and a good friend lost his life with a 7" grinder without a blade guard that shattered and severed his femoral artery. He never even got the door open on the pickup truck. Be careful with these things. Don't just use good judgement, ask an expert about what you're about to do with high speed tools like 10000 rpm grinders.
I'd be very interested in feedback from experienced turners and tool handlers about this technique.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Woodchipper