Putting together a resin casting setup

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Harpazo

As I've admitted, I'm new to casting and stabilizing but am making my attempt at it. I took the documented advice from Curtis and probably not much else other than a few youtube videos on the subject.

I used the cut sheet Curtis put up and I think my table saw was off a smidge as I had to re-cut the bottoms to fit with the side pieces. One of them I will probably dis-assemble and remake into smaller molds for other single cast blanks.

The pressure pot is nothing special. Harbor Freight 2-1/2 gallon with a discount coupon for a cost of $79.99 plus tax. I have a small nailer compressor to power that when it's ready to use.

I'm not sure which resin I will use first but I'm pretty sold on the Alumilite products based on all I've been discovering. I'll probably try PR resins as well. Mainly because I can get a small amount to play with for comparison at least once.

Here are some photos of today's activity.

Attachments

• IMG_0129.jpg
    IMG_0129.jpg
    225.5 KB · Views: 403
  • IMG_0131.jpg
    IMG_0131.jpg
    225.2 KB · Views: 331
  • IMG_0136.jpg
    IMG_0136.jpg
    175.8 KB · Views: 443
  • IMG_0137.jpg
    IMG_0137.jpg
    168.2 KB · Views: 475
  • IMG_0140.jpg
    IMG_0140.jpg
    228.2 KB · Views: 343
Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Harpazo

With the successes there are also the fails. I tried to go the "easy" route and buy plastic for the resin molds online. The material I received was so unusable I had my wife pick up a cutting board from Sam's Club. Yes, this is what Curtis recommends but limitations on getting out the mail order route looked like a good operation. Plus, the supplier is one listed here on IAP.