A dummies guide to tapping on the lathe

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
Most of this stuff is pretty basic and I'm not even going to get into any technical jargon ( even if I knew it :redface:) but I figured this might help one or two people. I hope so, or I've just wasted a few hours when I could've made a pen or even had a beer. :biggrin:
Please also note that this is just the way I do things, I'm no expert and there are sure to be other and maybe better ways.:wink:

In this exciting episode, :rolleyes: I'd like to share a couple of things about taps and how to use them in a lathe. I'll try and do something similar for dies, this weekend too.

OK, lets look at a couple of taps. These are not anything special with regards to spiral flutes or even for special purposes. Just general purpose taps.
In the first pic (DifTaps.jpg) there is one very obvious difference between them. They have different names depending on where you live, but basically they are named after the amount of taper on the front.
You can see that the one on the left has very little taper. In fact this tap requires only about one or two turns to fully form the threads.
This is often the type of tap you will get in a Pound Shop ( Dollar Store )
But they do have a purpose. They are often called Bottom Taps, because they are used to thread to the bottom of a blind hole. The are also called 3rd cut taps, because if you need to thread to the bottom of a hole, it would be the third tap you use.
You shouldn't even attempt to start a thread with this kind of tap. You can be pretty sure that you will either strip the threads as you try or just break the workpiece.

Next tap has more taper, probably around 4 -5 turns before a thread is fully formed. These are pretty good taps and most of mine are like this.
They are often called Plug Taps or 2nd Cut Taps. These are not ideal for brittle stuff like PR, but can be used.