Finishes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

10ACTony

As a noob, I've made just a few pens and each is a little bit better than the one before. Standard kits so far. I have a question though, what type of finishes do you use, not including the CA. Are any of the friction polishes (Mylands or Behlands) any good and will any wear better than another? I tried the CA finish once and it didn't come out to well, guess I need a bit more practice.

Any and all input would be appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldb2000

Friction finishes don't last very long , that is why you don't see very many of us using them . A CA finish is the most durable finish and well worth learning . It can be as easy or complicated as you wish to make it . You will be buried with a thousand different ways to do it and everyone will say that theirs is the best way to do it , and they are right , theirs is the best way ..... for them . You will have to decide which way is best for you . I will start the fun with the easiest way and then you will get to hear all the other ways . Check out this video for a simple three step process http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zsJXC-17rU Three coats of thick CA and a little sanding and you are done .

Let the games begin !!!

grub32

Ca is the best in my opinion in terms of durability and shine....there are tons of resourCes available on this site and others...you will find something that will work for you.

Best of luck,

Grub

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
CA is not the only option. Try spray poly acrylic or spray lacquer. They are quicker than a traditional lacquer finish and provide protection which is more than sufficient for a pen.

RussFairfield

Passed Away 2011
In Memoriam
My experience with learning to finish a pen, for what it's worth -