Craft foam for CA finishing

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

VotTak

I read here that craft foam is being used for CA finishing. Can we go deeper in that topic, please?
1. Where do you get you craft foam? What should be a price range?
2. What size(maybe color), thickness should I look for when shopping for that?
3. How do you apply CA? How do you apply BLO and CA using craft foam? How much CA needed? What thickness of CA used?
4. What happen after initial application? Do you throw that piece of foam away? Clean it? Keep on using on clean spot?
5. Anything specific while using foam in comparison with paper towel?

Sorry for a lot of questions. I've never used craft foam before.
Thanks in advance for your answers.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

The Penguin

1. any crafts store or maybe Wal-mart. a buck a sheet.(11"x17")

2. I've only seen 2 thicknesses - on about 3/32" the other about 1/4" - use the thin stuff. I prefer darker colors - it's easier to see the glue when it dries on the foam

3. Cut foam into squares about 1" x 1" - maybe 1x2. hold the 1" edge on the pen (while it was rotating slowly) and apply CA. Use the foam like a squeegee to spread. I don't use BLO. I use 2-4 coats of thin, then 2 or 3 coats of medium.

4. when the glue dries, flip the square over and use that side for the next coat. after that dries, I use scissors and cut off about 1/4" of the foam and the dried glue - and then reuse the same piece of foam several times. when the foam gets too small to handle - throw it away.

5. I no longer use paper towels for CA application.

mike4066

I've used it for CA finishes.

1) You can find it at any craft store/Walmart. It's not very expensive, you can probably get an 8x10 sheet for $1-2 and cut it up into 1x3 inch strips.

2) the stuff I have is probably 3-4mm thick.

3) Same way you would with a paper towel, or any CA finish.