Unusual small item photography setup?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

AlanZ

Okay, let's have a little fun.

In another thread in the Penturning forum, I mentioned that I just finished a turning a purple TruStone pen and added a video tutorial.

I also photographed the pen it using an interesting setup... the first time I've tried this approach.

So, EXCLUDING the people who already know how I made this photo, how would YOU go about making a photo like this?

For those that don't know me... years ago, I was a commercial photographer with a studio in New York City. This would have been typical of my small product photography. Previous photo styles and preferences persist!

I'll explain the details of this setup after we get a few replies.

There are many ways to any end result... this one is particularly interesting < vbg >

purple_trustone_open_640.jpg

purple_trustone_closed_640.jpg

Last edited:

Justturnin

Looks like you PhotoShopped the pen onto the background and used some sort of reflection option to make it look like it was actually sitting on it. Just a guess, I dont have Photoshop but have seen some crazy things down w/ it.

Haynie

I'll play

Black plexi with a light underneath. Since there are no shadows I assume three possibilities

1-top light with diffused light coming from right and left of the photographer
2-Diffused ring light on camera.
3-Product box with light being diffused.

I am going to guess it is number 3.

How did I do?

AlanZ

So we've had guesses that it's either on glass or plexiglass.

Assuming that it is one or the other, do you know how to determine which one?

There is a clue in the photo.

The results/artifacts might have an impact on the design decisions, and influence the background choice.

arioux

Glass on a white or gray paper, black box with a pinhole with a good dailight bulb on top that let just a small amout of light coming in. Probalby an other source of lightning for the overall light

JohnGreco