How to seal a bullet casing from tarnish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

klibra

I am new to pen turning and I have been working on some pens made with 30.06/308 shells. I am looking for a way to seal them to prevent tarnish. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Also, the inner brass tube seems to loosen and come out after glueing it inside the shell...suggestions are needed? :laugh:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RichB

I just put together 4 yesterday. I solder in the tube at the primer end with a soldering gun and dip the bullet and casing in Sherwin Williams Lacquer for metal 4 times. I learned from the Library here and The pen shop. With questions I sent a PM to the writer of the tutorial and all my questions were answered. I didn't put my questions on a thread because there were so many. It is a lot of fun watching it all come together. Have fun I did. RichB

I haven't done a cartridge casing pen in several months now, but when I was doing them regularly, I didn't worry about tarnish... my customers seemed to prefer that they would tarnish?? Go figure?? I just spin the cartridge on the lathe with a paper towel damped with Brasso.

On putting the tubes inside, haven't thought about soldering them, I use the Gorilla glue to glue them in... it expands and centers pretty well and haven't had any problems with tubes coming out... I don't use the bullets for nibs as most do so that may be an advantage on my part....

Dave_M

When I made my own, I would lacquer them. After making a half dozen or so I decided to buy them power coated from Little River Crafts.

I started making a few of my own because I was concerned about the quality but I really didn't have the time or desire considering how sporadic my cartridge pen sales had been going. As far as quality goes, Eric's cartridges are very well built and his customer service is the best I've experienced in a long time. Just my opinion.