Help stop the ivory ban.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sandra Brady

Hi Guys! This is my first post on your forum, so forgive me if I fumble a bit. I am a professional scrimshaw artist (37 years), and as such have worked on ivory in everything from pens to pool cues. My reason for getting on here is to inform you all of the ivory ban that the US government is trying to put over on us. Now right away I can hear a lot of you saying "well I don't work on ivory so this doesn't effect me" . But hold on - It's just a start, first ban all legally imported ivory, then on the rosewood and who knows, it's a slippery slope! It might not effect you right now, but maybe you've turned an ivory pen in the past, or collect old pens and happen to have one in your collection. This new law will make you a felon if you try to sell it! So I am passing on this new website that was established to fight the ban, and also to promote sane and responsible ways to actually help the elephants. Please take a few minutes to check it out. Home

John Pratt

Hmmmm. New member, first post, the post looks a little sketchy......... I think I'll pass on clicking on the link. Who will be the brave one and click on it first?????

tbroye

This could be a start of a very political discussion. In fact this is purely political and will end up bad. The person just joined for her own agenda

Last edited:

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Although we can guesstimate what COULD happen, it might be a nice gesture to welcome a new member first.

HI Sandra!!!!

A little investigation turned up her website as well as articles about her scrimshaw accomplishments. On her website, she is consistent, talking about the ivory ban, here: Scrimshaw - by Sandra Brady!

If the government was planning to ban all sharp tools, our industry would be threatened and we would react. Eliminating ivory will have a similar effect on scrimshaw.