Feather blank making

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Woodguy95

Ok so I am a newbie to this forum but I have been turning pens fo a few years now. I've just starter making kitless pens and now I want to try making some feather blanks for my pens.

I would like to use some of your expertise to see first if polyester resin is a better choice over alumilite. I don't have any pressure pot, vacuum chamber or vacuum pump. I would prefer not having to invest in one of those.

For the feather part I just have no idea on what kind of feathers to buy I found a place called the feather place but it's pretty damn expensive.
Thanks in advance for your answers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

longbeard

Welcome to the madness Simon

PR would be better in my opinion. Silmar 41 is my choice of resin when casting.

No pressure pot....warm the resin and use vibration to help with the bubbles.

Feathers....not 100% sure on that, but would like to think ones for tying flies would work.

rd_ab_penman

Welcome to the madness Simon

PR would be better in my opinion. Silmar 41 is my choice of resin when casting.

No pressure pot....warm the resin and use vibration to help with the bubbles.

Feathers....not 100% sure on that, but would like to think ones for tying flies would work.

I use Polyester Resin with Pheasant feathers
PP is a must as the feathers like to trap air

Les

Attachments

• #1 -  Black Titanium Titanium Gold.jpg
    #1 - Black Titanium Titanium Gold.jpg
    107.7 KB · Views: 252
  • #3A - Ringneck Church Windows.JPG
    #3A - Ringneck Church Windows.JPG
    41.3 KB · Views: 245

southernclay

Les[/quote]

Les,
Nice work!

PP is pre preg right? When doing brushing it on I assume it done with PR with no catalyst added?
Thanks!

socdad

I was able to eliminate bubbles most of the time by coating the blank with thin ca and allowing to sit at least 24 hrs before casting ... A pressure pot has helped a bunch!

Woodguy95 ... pm sent

Skie_M

Les

Les,
Nice work!